Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm new to Linux, I'm running Red Hat Nine, and I'm not sure how to share my connection through XP.... I want to run a proxy and set up Samba, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Internet Connection SHaring

I'm new to Linux, I'm running Red Hat Nine, and I'm not sure how to share my connection through XP.... I want to run a proxy and set up Samba, but I'm completely lost.. so if you have any suggestions, please let me know!!

Linux Guru
    Do you mean that a Winbloze XP computer should do the internet sharing, or that the Linux system should share its internet with the XP computer? If you're looking for help with getting the XP computer to share its internet, then you might be looking in the wrong place being in a forum for Linux, unless someone here would accidently know how to do that.
    If the XP computer already shares its internet connection and you want to get the Linux system to use it, you need to set the default gateway to the IP address of the XP computer.
    Please reply back with whatever is the case.

What kind of proxy is it that you want to run?

For setting up Samba, yowwww (a member of this forum) has written a guide that incorporates that. See http://easylinuxguide.com/ to get to it.

Just Joined!
    Its much easier to set the linux box as the gateway and firewall, then set up the M$ box to access the net through the linux box. you will get plenty of help in this forum to do it this way.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    My brother has the Xp comp and he has the internet and I want to use his internet thru a proxy... I'm not sure what proxy I am going to use, if you have any recommendations, please let me know....

Linux Guru