Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
ok i have a partition for that is fat32 and i have it mounted on to my linux partition and i was wondering how do i write to that drive. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901

    fat32 drive


    ok i have a partition for that is fat32 and i have it mounted on to my linux partition and i was wondering how do i write to that drive. say i have a file i downloaded in linux and now want to open it in windows how do i put it on the fat32 drive? thanks
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    wouldnt you just copy the file into /mnt/<mountname>/ ?

    Jason

  3. #3
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    I either don't understand the problem or its exact as j mentioned. After mounting it, just cp filename.ext /mnt/hd? I'm confused
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    well i keep getting a permission problem or an error saying cant write to file and the weird thing is that i was logged in to root when trying it the first time and now i tryed it under my user account but still nothing so for not ellaberating more on that. but thanks for the help.
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  5. #5
    Linux User Mado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    255
    Seems like you have the drive mounted as read-only to me...not sure how you'd change that though...
    Live in the sunshine, swim the sea, drink the wild air...

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    ok then anyone that is using redhat 9 is there any software that is already installed that will burn iso files on to a cd so that i can install linux from it. thanks.

    the problem is that i downloaded 6 of the iso on windows and then downloaded 1 on to redhat cause that was what i was using and now i need to burn it on to a cd so i can install debian on my laptop.
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  7. #7
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Try this:

    Code:
    cdrecord --scanbus
    cdrecord -v -eject speed=** dev=*,*,* file.iso
    Just insert the speed to burn at and the 3 digits for the device (that's what cdrecord --scanbus will give you), and you're set to go.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  8. #8
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    Per your tag line you have a dual boot laptop. Does it have not have a burner in it?
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    yeah i have a burner
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    Quote Originally Posted by sarumont
    Try this:

    Code:
    cdrecord --scanbus
    cdrecord -v -eject speed=** dev=*,*,* file.iso
    Just insert the speed to burn at and the 3 digits for the device (that's what cdrecord --scanbus will give you), and you're set to go.
    do i use /dev/cdrom or /mnt/cdrom for the dev=*,*,* and y is there three *
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •