Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
you might want to boot insto a failsafe or runlevel one mode....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157

    you might want to boot insto a failsafe or runlevel one mode.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    You mentioned that your keyboard doesn't work after you type in your username, but note that in most distros, you will not see anything when you write your password! After writing it, just hit enter and you should be logged in. After that try the 'startx' command at the prompt.
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

  3. #13
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Quote Originally Posted by bigtomrodney
    Yup try that one, and I think Mandrake has a tool called draxconf or drakx, try those ones.
    No wait....xfdrake....

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by psic
    You mentioned that your keyboard doesn't work after you type in your username, but note that in most distros, you will not see anything when you write your password! After writing it, just hit enter and you should be logged in. After that try the 'startx' command at the prompt.
    you = computer genius man. that solves one problem, now im trying to figure out how much memory is on my video card...

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by GNU_man
    You don't need a site to list it out. Type:
    Code:
    xf86config
    and just answer the questions.
    nice, much thanks, I'm using that tool right now, but I'm having a hard time finding the specs on my graphics card (intel 82830)

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    51
    sorry for triple post, but I went through that a few times and it still isnt working... I'm wondering if I treid a different distro maybe it might have the driver for it... where can I get the most recent, free version of SUSE? I don't want the eval or the live version, either... thanx much in advance!

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Baghdad, Iraq
    Posts
    6
    nice, much thanks, I'm using that tool right now, but I'm having a hard time finding the specs on my graphics card (intel 82830)
    I could be wrong, but have you checked your bios to see what it is set at? That "videocard" most likely shares system memory, and thus can be any value you set it at. As far as your question as to the availability of SuSE 9,3 professional, try this link: ftp.uni-rostock.de/pub/systems/unix/linux/suse/i386/9.3/iso . I'm currently d/l'ing the dvd edition.

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12
    You should try looking up the Hardware Compatibility List before installation...

  9. #19
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284
    Oh yes, i forgot that the X config tool does ask you for some detailed specs... if it's a shared mem card like dave_boo mentioned, i have no experience with those as i've never had one.
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •