Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey All Iím a newbie to all this and still run Windows XP Home Edition. Iíve had my machine almost two years, and itís got really slow lately and programs ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Is Linux For Me?

Hey All

Iím a newbie to all this and still run Windows XP Home Edition. Iíve had my machine almost two years, and itís got really slow lately and programs seem to crash and generally with the resources it has the performance is terrible. It seems that the OS gets bogged down terribly and things are slow and I get annoyed. Generally Iíd use a system restore disk but my PC didnít come with one and I donít really want to pay Time sixty pounds for one as Iím generally not in love with Windows XP.

I have no programming knowledge or the likes but Iíve had a computer since about 1996 so I have a fair bit of experience with playing around with stuff.

Iíve heard that Linux is a good OS and Iíve had a look around, Mandrake seems to market itself as easy to use and the user interface looks not too dissimilar to Windows and Iím sure with a bit of common sense and messing around I could use it.

However Iíve got a few questionsÖ theyíve probably been asked before, but Iíd like to ask againÖ

1. I donít use my computer for muchÖ Web Browsing, E-Mail, Word Processing and Web Design sum up my usageÖ will I be able to run my HP Deskjet 840C?
    2. As I said with web design I have a fair few programs that I like, Adobe Photoshop, Paintshop Pro and Macromedia products will I be able to use these in Linux?
    3. My computer has an AMD Athlonô XP 1600+ Processor at 1.4Ghz and 480Meg Ram. Will I be able to run the latest version of Linux Mandrake on it comfortably?
    4. Will I be able to connect to the internet through my current modemÖ a Webstar. Iíve checked the CD it only seems to have support for Mac and PC (which I presume means Windows)Ö