Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Linux. I've played around with Knoppix and even installed Linux on my hard drive, but I'm not that knowledgeable about it. I was wondering if anyone ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Any good Linux books?

I am new to Linux. I've played around with Knoppix and even installed Linux on my hard drive, but I'm not that knowledgeable about it. I was wondering if anyone knew of any good book (or books) that would take me from Linux newbie to power user.

Thanks in advance.

oz
    forum.guy
    Here's another thread with some info regarding books:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/top...tml&highlight=

Running Linux by Matt Welsh and Linux Cookbook by Carla Schroder (both published by O'Reilly) are very good.

Just Joined!
    I was looking at a really good book last night at Barnes & Noble called "Linux Desktop Hacks" I don't remeber who wrote it, but it had everything from how to adjust the desktop wallpaper to compiling the kernel.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Engineer
    O'Reilly has a complete edition dedicated to Knoppix... Otherwise, the Linux Cookbook is also great . You should check those out.
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

Just Joined!

Looking for linux books having the following chapters

Chapter n, standard locations for packages
    chapter n+1,backup before installing new software packages
    chapter n+2,troubleshooting and recovery
    chapter n+3,networking
    chapter n+4,wifi and currently accepted wifi cards
    chapter n+5,performance optimisation

Of all the books that I read and purchased, not one addresses the above topic.