Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Next time is to compile it since you d/led the source and not the binary. After its compiled you need to configure then run it....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994

    Next time is to compile it since you d/led the source and not the binary. After its compiled you need to configure then run it.

  2. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    242
    Buy an $80 broadband "router" that does PPPoE.
    Then never have to jack with PPPoE on any PCs.
    Not to mention the safety of running behind NAT.

  3. #13
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Noone wants to throw away that much money just for changing O/S. Plus, I recommend using a linux box as router instead (I do) if you need one, since it's so much more configurable.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    242
    I previously ran an OpenBSD box as a firewall.
    Eventually I ran out of time to jack around with
    it, so I just picked up a broadband router to end
    that whole maintenance routine. The big ticket
    item for me is the ability to forward designated
    ports to internal machines, so I can ssh into my
    home boxes remotely. Broadband routers can
    handle that task just fine so works great for me.

    $80 is not too bad. I ended up using that PC in
    another task, so it saved me more than $80 by
    not having to build another PC.

  6. #15
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Well, in my opinion it's still expensive when you can do all that and more with a linux box. My router has currently been on for 43 days and I haven't touched it. I had to reboot it to change one of the NICs, when I upgraded to 100 MB network. Opening ports is no problem at all with iptables.

  7. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13
    Well it would seem that I have solved the problem. I downloaded PPPOE software, installed and configured it . I am now connected. I again would like to thank you all for your
    help and suggestions.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •