Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I'm trying to get my dialup configured so that I can get net access. This is a new Gentoo install. I'm running KDE and and when I goto run the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    113

    How to install pppd on new Gentoo install


    I'm trying to get my dialup configured so that I can get net access.

    This is a new Gentoo install. I'm running KDE and and when I goto run the KPPP dialup tool it says

    ERROR KPPP
    Cannot find the ppp daemon.
    Maker sure that pppd is installed.
    When I list the packages of the 2nd Gentoo CD I don't really see one that is PPPD specific so I'm assuming that this is already installed and just needs to be turned on or pppd is bundled inside of another package.

    How would I find out which package pppd resides in?


    Thanks,
    JB

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I believe that pppd is in the net-dialup/ppp package.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    113
    I'm getting there, slowy but surely...Ok I got ppp installed and ran "emerge sync".

    Now how do I decipher and act on what these messages mean?

    ***********************************************

    >>> Updating Portage cache... ...done!



    Performing Global Updates: /usr/portage/profiles/updates/3Q-2003
    (Could take a couple minutes if you have a lot of binary packages.)
    .='update pass' *='binary update' @='/var/db move'
    .................................................. ....!!! Cannot update binary: Destination exists.
    !!! app-admin/gentoolkit-0.1.30 -> app-portage/gentoolkit-0.1.30
    ................%.......



    ** Skipping packages. Run 'fixpackages' or set it in FEATURES to fix the
    tbz2's in the packages directory. Note: This can take a very long time.

    * An update to portage is available. It is _highly_ recommended
    * that you update portage now, before any other packages are updated.
    * Please do so and then update ALL of your configuration files.
    ************************************************** ************************************************

    It looks as though Portage got updated then some weird about " Cannot update binary: Destination exists.".. I don't know what they mean there.

    Then the 3 rd paragraph I don't quite understand: "An update to portage is available" How do I upgrade portage and then after that how do I update my config files..???

    Thanks,
    JB

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    113
    Ok..figured it out.

    To update portage:
    emerge portage

    To update config files:
    etc-update
    Still wondering about this though:



    >>> Updating Portage cache... ...done!



    Performing Global Updates: /usr/portage/profiles/updates/3Q-2003
    (Could take a couple minutes if you have a lot of binary packages.)
    .='update pass' *='binary update' @='/var/db move'
    .................................................. ....!!! Cannot update binary: Destination exists.
    !!! app-admin/gentoolkit-0.1.30 -> app-portage/gentoolkit-0.1.30
    ................%.......
    JB

  5. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390
    It appears it couldn't update gentoolkit-0.1.30 for some reason. I wouldn't worry about that, I don't think it's very important. It might get fixed the next time there's an update and you upgrade portage, but for now don't sweat it.

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    113
    Cooo..

    Thanks,

    That makes me feel better.
    JB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •