Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 48
my friend loaned me some webspace(whass-up.net), which he has hosted through alwayswebhosting.com...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    487

    my friend loaned me some webspace(whass-up.net), which he has hosted through alwayswebhosting.com
    majorwoo

    Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    38
    i using adsl with sbc pacific bell, it 's a dynamic IP

  3. #13
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Do you have a domain name registered?

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    38
    no

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    38
    so it's no way if i dont have my own domain name??

  6. #16
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    487
    no its fine.

    get yourself a dynamic IP client

    dynup.net has them, and there are many more (i believe no-ip.com has one too)

    so make yourself a name therock.dynup.net (like i have http://majorwoo.dynup.net:1024 - the majorwoo.dynup.net is redirected to my IP)

    now this will not give you a top level domain (majorwoo.net) but for most of us it is just fine, unless we are going commercial. Now you if you want you can register at no-ip.com like i said and you can have

    http://something1.hopto.org redirect to http://therock.dynup.net/something1/

    and

    http://something2.hopto.org redirect to http://therock.dynup.net/something2/

    as i said before, it works - but not for commercial, its a workaround to alof of other solutions (like your own DNS server or other things)

    see you could make 2 dynup.net accounts but they would both point to the same page, so something1 and something2 would both see the main page, unless you did

    http://therock.dynup.net/something1/
    http://therock.dynup.net/something2/

    if you want therock.com (or such) you need to register a domain name - no way around it (unless you just want your personal computer (and anyone using you as a DNS server) to see it - then there are ways,but that's cheating not what you want)

    </rambling>
    majorwoo

    Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    38
    thank for this majorwoo, i will play around with what u tell me

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    38
    i make it work with only my site: therock.sytes.net, but other sites from web redirect not working
    No-ip has DNS , CNAME, and Web Redirect , then i i go to no-ip web site to change web redirect :
    therock1.sytes.net redirect to http://therock.sytes.net/user1/index.html
    therock2.sytes.net redirect to http://therock.sytes.net/user2/index.html
    In my linux box, i make Http server setting---> Virtual host---> add--->
    user1 , Directory root, site config: /home/user1/
    user2 , Directory root, site config: /home/user2/

    then i go to browser: http://therock1.sytes.net
    i got this message:
    Forbidden

    You don't have permission to access /user1/index.html on this server.

    Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.


    i'm new for this Thank for help

  9. #19
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Do you have an "index.html" in /home/user1?

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    38
    yes i have

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •