Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
iptables wont work. they arent a "valid command" AHH help i use redhat 9...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    17

    iptables.. not there


    iptables wont work. they arent a "valid command" AHH help

    i use redhat 9

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    83
    What specifically are u trying to do - i.e. what command did u issue?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    17
    lol. i cant use any command.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by mohd
    lol. i cant use any command.
    Hmm are you logged-in as root ?

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    any command????
    things like ls still work right?

    do this
    Code:
    su
    (enter ur root pw at prompt)
    iptables -L
    this will shwo ur current iptables setup

    if it says invalid command etc try
    Code:
    rpm -qa|grep -i iptables
    if iptables is installed it should show up here, if it doesnt u need to download a new copy ( rpm.pbone.net ) or www.netfilter.org i think

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    Thats not possible....as a normal user you can execute many commands... with the id command you can see which user you are for the moment... ls -l works right??
    Regards

    Andutt

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    27
    To view output from iptables -L you need to be logged in as root
    Code:
    su
    "root password"
    in an xterm
    issue command
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/iptables -L

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •