Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I have linux installed on one HD and want to install Windows on that same drive, I was wondering if you could install Windows after you install Linux, I installed ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    577

    Install Windows After Linux


    I have linux installed on one HD and want to install Windows on that same drive, I was wondering if you could install Windows after you install Linux, I installed Linux first, but can I install Windows on it though

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Sure you can, but it will overwrite your MBR.

    Just reinstall your bootloader after installing Windows and you can then pick from the menu whichever OS you want to start.

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    369
    youll have to make a boot flopy so ye can boot linux up on the hard drive

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    577
    Should I just delete Linux, install Windows then install Linux

  6. #5
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Not sure which distro you have on the box you refer to, but some offer a grub/lilo reload off of the install CD. You can also use a Knoppix CD to reinstall grub or lilo (this is probably the easiest option), or if it's grub, you can make a grub boot floppy (this is easy, too).

    Any of these options would be easier than reinstalling Linux again after installing Windows, but a complete Linux reinstall is a possible option.

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    369
    Although your distro would most likly have a utility which to produce an emergancy grub boot disk.

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    577
    I have Suse Pro 9.1, but my floppy drive don't work for some reason

  9. #8
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    Just get Knoppix and boot from that to reinstall the bootloader.

    That's probably the easiest way.

  10. #9
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    577
    Knoppix is kinda of big for a dial-up service, maybe I should just install windows and then linux

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Quote Originally Posted by Dude500
    Knoppix is kinda of big for a dial-up service, maybe I should just install windows and then linux
    Use the gentoo minimal cd... if not, I think it's achievable with damnsmalllinux (as long as it can mount your filesystems, and chroot into it you should be fine)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •