Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have recently installed a copy of Red Hat 9 on a spare laptop machine (800Mhz with 128Mb RAM). I have never used Linux before (I grew up using DOS ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

New Linux user

I have recently installed a copy of Red Hat 9 on a spare laptop machine (800Mhz with 128Mb RAM).
    I have never used Linux before (I grew up using DOS and various versions of Windows) but though I would like to give it a go to see if it is is as good as everyone says
    The laptop had been running Windows XP but I had formatted the disk to start with a clean slate.
    The installation went fine and everything seems to be working OK, I can even connect to my router to browse and get mail, but my biggest problem is the speed! I know that the amount of RAM installed is the minimum for an X window setup but I did not expect it to be quite this slow. Starting an application from the desktop takes forever, much, much slower than anything under XP.
    Is this what I have got to expect or is there anything I can do to speed things up?
    I would love to switch over to Linux on all my systems just to get away from all the windows security problems but if the speed is just not going to be there then I am afraid I will have to stick with XP
    Any help gratefully received.

Linux Engineer
    You can start by disabling all services that you dont need to have running, they will steal some memory/cpu speed even if you dont use them....check with

Code:
    chkconfig --list | grep 3:on
    Disable all services you dont need to have started with the command:

Code:
    chkconfig --level 0123456 <servicename> off
    i have about 8 services started in defaultrunlevel (3)....
    Regards

Andutt

Linux Guru