Find the answer to your Linux question:
I think my bsd and linux partitions are really badly fragmented, does anyone know of any good defraggers for the operating systems?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Enthusiast

*nix Defraggers

I think my bsd and linux partitions are really badly fragmented, does anyone know of any good defraggers for the operating systems?

oz
    forum.guy
    Linux doesn't usually need any defragmentation. I've been using it for 6 years and have never defragged, or needed to do so.

From what I understand Linux doesn't need defraggers due to the file systems used are resistant to fragmentation.
    Dell Precision T7400 Workstation
    Dual 3.33Ghz Xeon "Harpertown" Core
    16GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC CL5
    BFG GeForce GTX 285 OC 2GB
    X-Fi Platinum
    HP w2408 24" Monitor
    Dual Boot:openSUSE 11.2/Win 7 Ultimate

Linux User
    I was just installing FreeBSD recently, and they suggested a seperate /var and /tmp to minimize fragmentation in /, because both deal with very dynamic small files. I've been noticing some slow down in my Arch install lately, I think I'll reinstall soon splitting /var and /usr. I don't think /tmp is relevant the way the 2.6 kernel handles it, but I really don't have much clue about that.
    Michael Salivar

Man knows himself insofar as he knows the world, becoming aware of it only in himself, and of himself only within it.
    --Goethe