Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I'm not very experienced in the Linux OS yet. I also have WinXP on my computer and i got grub for my boot selector. The thing is my WinXP ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Re-installing Windows Without Messing Up Linux

Hello,

I'm not very experienced in the Linux OS yet. I also have WinXP on my computer and i got grub for my boot selector. The thing is my WinXP partition has a few nasty viruses and I just wanna down grade to Win2k anyway but last time I tried to do this of course it messed up grub somehow (changing the MBR i guess) but my question is, is there any safe way to reinstall windows without screwing up my Linux partition or grub. If you could just like send me a link to a tutorial of some sort or explain it i would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
    Jason

Linux Guru
    Windows will always over-write the mbr on installation. While you are still able to boot to Linux, I'd suggest you make a Grub boot floppy. Then, after you have installed Windows, you will be able to use the floppy disk to boot into Linux and to re-install Grub to the mbr. To create a Grub boot floppy, check this link.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Enthusiast
    2k is better. You will like the change. Just delete the windows/linux partitions, install windows, then install linux. After all this get a grub floppy and install it (although I prefer xOSL). This should be it. By the way, what distro are you planning on/already running?

Linux Newbie
    Quote Originally Posted by chopin1810
    2k is better. You will like the change. Just delete the windows/linux partitions, install windows, then install linux. After all this get a grub floppy and install it (although I prefer xOSL). This should be it. By the way, what distro are you planning on/already running?