Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
I have the 5-button optical Microsoft Intellimouse. It has a scroll wheel, and I was wondering if there was a way to make it work in things such as Konqueror ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Ed
    Ed is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    59

    Can a scroll wheel work in Red Hat 8.0 Professional?


    I have the 5-button optical Microsoft Intellimouse. It has a scroll wheel, and I was wondering if there was a way to make it work in things such as Konqueror to scroll down the page.

    On a side note, this is my first post here and I plan to frequent this site from now on.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Did you selected the correct mouse driver when you installed? If you don't select it as a wheel mouse, it won't use the wheel.
    What distribution are you running?

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Code:
        Option "ZAxisMapping"       "4 5"
    Add that to your mouse section in you XF86Config and it will enable the mouse.

  4. #4
    Ed
    Ed is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    59
    That code is already in XF86Config. The wheel acts as a button, but I still can't scroll with it. Also, this mouse will only work when I select a Generic driver, it won't accept the Microsoft drivers for some reason.

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Code:
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Mouse1"
        Driver      "mouse"
        Option "Protocol"    "IMPS/2"
        Option "Device"      "/dev/mouse"
        Option "ZAxisMapping"       "4 5"
        Option "Emulate3Buttons"
    EndSection
    That is my section for a 2 button ms mouse with wheel

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Lindenhurst, NY
    Posts
    35
    This has been a thing with RedHat since at least 7.0, but the important part in the config file is "IMPS/2", this is how I've had to fix it with every upgrade.

    Dolda, not to nitpick, but he mentioned that he had RedHat in the subject line again!!

    Tithefug

  7. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Let's not be so picky, shall we? Like I said, noone looks in the subject line for important information anyway, right?

  8. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    487
    I dunno dolda, I know wassy does - he jumped all over me for a typo in one of them
    majorwoo

    Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

  9. #9
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    621
    maybe in a topic type thing? I don't read the subject once on the "replies" page. I also called you on mispelling gentee on two different threads as well
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Leicestershire UK
    Posts
    1

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •