Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
i have installed ubuntu on an old crappy clamshell ibook and it ran pretty good. detected the airport card and everything. ubuntu seems to be a kinda lightweitht disto too ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    California!
    Posts
    159

    i have installed ubuntu on an old crappy clamshell ibook and it ran pretty good. detected the airport card and everything. ubuntu seems to be a kinda lightweitht disto too so it should have no problems on your g4 ibook. give ubuntu a shot, they will even send you cds for free if you dont want to download
    Registered Linux User # 392752

    \"pr0n\": An anagram of \"porn,\" possibly indicating the use of pornography.

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366

    Re: Best Distro for a Mac...

    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    Quote Originally Posted by afroguy013
    Which distros run best on Macs? Specifically an iBook 14" g4 w/512MB and an 80GB hd, sadly it's got an ati card in it, but I digress...
    OS X. No really, I'm not trying to be a jerk here, but I think by far the best OS you can run on Apple hardware is Apple's OS X.
    You would think that, but after ghosting and testing about 250 g5s with tiger...X is the most bloated os that I've ever encountered...if you really strip it down it might be usefull...If you want a linux check out gentoo for ppc for a challenge...if you want something easier with all the software already there ubuntu for ppc is good, the discs are free to order and you can test it out first, ubuntu ppc is the only ppc livecd that I've ever encountered...
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  3. #13
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496

    Re: Best Distro for a Mac...

    Quote Originally Posted by genesus
    You would think that, but after ghosting and testing about 250 g5s with tiger...
    You're not the target audience for OS X. For *desktop* use, it's great IMO.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    542
    Good point made by Moe. Mac's audience is the same audience as Windows' audience. If you go to Apple's web site, all of their "stories" are of people who aren't too edjamakated about computers, but just want theirs "to work" (in fact, that's apple's tag line:"it just works."). The Windows audience doesn't even know that Internet Exploiter is not the internet. My mom asks me "how do I turn on the internet?". So how is that audience going to deal with all the funky messages they are going to get with Linux?

  6. #15
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366

    Re: Best Distro for a Mac...

    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    Quote Originally Posted by genesus
    You would think that, but after ghosting and testing about 250 g5s with tiger...
    You're not the target audience for OS X. For *desktop* use, it's great IMO.
    Maybe the easiest but by god its the slowest, plus with each new improvement it just gets slower and slower...
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  7. #16
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    542
    I have no idea. I've never used a Mac. I have no interest to use a Mac. But once the entire Windoze system becomes totally corrupt (I hate you Dell) then I'm switching.

  8. #17
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Luton, England, UK, Earth
    Posts
    639
    I like Mac OSX, I just dont like the fact you have to pay for software . I loooove linux and bsd.

  9. #18
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    522

    Re: Best Distro for a Mac...

    Hello everyone!

    I agree with techieMoe:

    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    OS X. No really, I'm not trying to be a jerk here, but
    I think by far the best OS you can run on Apple
    hardware is Apple's OS X.
    But what if someone does not want to buy PC to try
    Linux? That's the case with friend of mine. He wants to have
    both OS X and Linux on his NewWorld iMac, CPU: PowerPC 750 (33.11) 500MHz, RAM: 256 MB, Video: ATI Rage 128 Pro.
    So I tried to install these: Debian Sarge and Etch testing, Fedora 4, Yellow Dog, Ubuntu, and SUSE 10 RC.

    - Yellow dog failed to start installer.
    - Fedora installed but takes 10 min to boot and
    freezes after that.
    - Ubuntu is like Fedora. Cannot really use it on this
    machine.
    - Debian Sarge installed but did not boot.
    - Debian Etch: once i got everything working
    perfectly, but then GUI failed to start after reboot.
    It was network install, and when I tried to reinstall
    later (several times), GUI did not start at all.
    - SUSE 10 RC is the only one that installed without
    problems and reboots so far.
    However, there are several issues with SUSE:
    1) When starting KDE, you get error that powersave
    deamon is not running.
    2) Boot loader cannot be installed during normal
    installation, so for now I boot it from
    installation CD1 (choose boot installed system).
    3) The biggest problem is that desktop screen is
    shifted to the left (about 3 cm), so some of the icons
    are not visible, although accessible. Changing
    resolution does not help.

    Overall, SUSE on this iMac is the best. It's fast, looks professional, and is easy
    to use for someone who wants to learn Linux. I am actually posting this message from it.

    Does anyone know how to fix this desktop problem?

    Thanks !

  10. #19
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    542
    Usually there are a few buttons on your monitor. Try fiddling with those. There should be an option for something like ""horizontal position".

  11. #20
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    522
    Quote Originally Posted by chopin1810
    Usually there are a few buttons on your monitor. Try fiddling with those. There should be an option for something like ""horizontal position".
    It's iMac. There is only one "power" button on it. I know I could do it on PC monitor, but it's not possible with this machine.
    Is there any other way to do it?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •