Find the answer to your Linux question:
I want to start a business that involves the internet and email. Im fairly new to linux, but I know enough to realize that this is probably the best os ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

web page design

I want to start a business that involves the internet and email. Im fairly new to linux, but I know enough to realize that this is probably the best os to use as far as stability and security. I know nothing about writing programs or web pages, however, hence my problem. I have several friends I trust and that are well enough versed in winbloze to write the type of program i need, but I dont know anyone that well versed in linux that i can trust not to steal my idea. I intend to have a web page that people will sign up on, giving me some information, including their email address. I would like then to have this program (or another program if necessary) to automatically send each of my clients an email every day. I know nothing about programing, but I am a fast learner. If i've provided enough info, does anyone have any suggestions on where i can learn to write such a program? Books, websites, etc?

Linux Engineer
    For you webbsite you can use PHP that is a language to write webbpages in. Mysql is a database you can use in combination with PHP. And apache as the webbserver.

To write a program to send a mass-email every day isnt hard at all. All programs above is included on allmost all linux distributions.

Remember to stop and disable all unnessasary services on you linux box and secure apache if you gona have it facing the internet. Maybe a chroot jail for apache.
    Regards

Andutt

Just Joined!
    Do you know of any books or sites that discuss basic program writing that i can use?

Linux Engineer