Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
That's ok, because I will. I can't type. I know it. linuxforum.org regulars know it. If you have a problem with it, don't read my posts. Maybe at the top ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    487

    That's ok, because I will.

    I can't type. I know it. linuxforum.org regulars know it. If you have a problem with it, don't read my posts.

    Maybe at the top of each of my posts I should add:

    #########################################
    #########################################
    ##### WARNING -- WARNING #####
    ##### POSSIBLE BAD TYPING TO FOLLOW #####
    ##### READ AT YOUR OWN RISK #####
    #########################################
    #########################################
    majorwoo

    Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Quote Originally Posted by Dolda2000
    I guess it is to save disk space, so I'd say it's ok. I don't really see what you have against it? gcc is made to be modular, after all.
    Well I can see splitting up like the ada and fortran from it but I think gcc and g++ should be shipped together. Eventually your going to have to have both of them installed anyway, might as well keep them together.

  3. #13
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    487
    you really dont need both, come on now. .. _realistically_ you need both, but wassy will jump on us if we are not correct about it (like he gets on me for typing)
    majorwoo

    Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

  4. #14
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Genlee, I think you're being a little microsoftish here. Just because almost everyone will use both, it's just as good not to give them the option?

  5. #15
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    621
    yeah, RedHat splits everything up as much as they can. they have Bind (named) and Bind-utils (dig, nslookup)
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

  6. #16
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    487
    now sometimes i think they split it up for ease of DLing new RPMS

    things like bind that requires bind-utils to works so you have to DL it anyway
    majorwoo

    Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •