Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
New to linux, installed Red Hat 9, have so far succeeded installing two programs off the net, but have NOT succeeded with any programs supplied with the distro. Frustrating!! I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

RH9 + DVD = Dilemm

New to linux, installed Red Hat 9, have so far succeeded installing two programs off the net, but have NOT succeeded with any programs supplied with the distro. Frustrating!! I bought a Linux Format magazine with a DVD attached. On thet DVD is a version of Linux called JAMD which is pre setup for multimedia. Being a musician I figured multimedia was the best direction for me. However, RH9 won't read the DVD. (and of couse the one program that might have read it (xine) wouldn't install). It would appear that I will have to go back to windows to read the DVD, create an ISO and burn it so that I can install a version of linux. Is that irony or what ???

Ok, there is a question, (directed mainly to those who may have used JAMD) is it worth the effort to install JAMD, or should I perservere with red hat, or, is there another distro that suits multimedia better. Maybe Mandrake or Suse???
    Red Hat is obviously a great OS for running servers, but I don't run a server, I want to turn my computer into a recording studio.

Anyone else out there do recording on their computer???

Can you not mount the DVD as you would a normal CD? What about booting from the DVD?
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Linux Engineer
    John, JAMD is a linux distro. You don't read it in using RedHat, it is a version of RedHat setup for multimedia. So you would need to install it, just as you did your version of RedHat.

??
    Lansbury's Lido

thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Engineer