Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone. I am a newbie so please be nice! I've been thinking recently... If a PC is running another operating system (I'm thinking of a Windows machine) is there ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

An Easier Way To Install Linux On A Machine Containing Another OS?

Hi everyone.

I am a newbie so please be nice!

I've been thinking recently...

If a PC is running another operating system (I'm thinking of a Windows machine) is there any way Linux could be installed onto that machine without the need for repartitioning?

More specifically I'm thinking... Could Linux create a (large!) file on that machine therefore reserving part of the disk for its own use and then be installed to, and run from that part of the disk?

I know we already have plenty of "live" distributions and distributions that are pretty good at repartitioning disks but wouldn't this be even better?

No repartitioning and a complete doddle to remove if you don't like it...

I'm sure there are lots of reasons why this might be difficult or problematic but is it *possible*?

You could get a separate harddrive and install Linux on that. If that's not an option, try a project like CoLinux that claims to be able to run Linux *inside* Microsoft Windows without emulation. If money and fast performance isn't an issue, you might also consider virtual machine software like VMWare or VirtualPC.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Just Joined!
    Thanks for that info on CoLinux techieMoe - I'll look into that...

I'm really thinking for the cautious, non-techie with a bog standard Windows machine to be able to try Linux - it's still too difficult.

They don't want to spend any money to get it working.
    They don't want to repartition their hard drive because someone told them once, or they read somewhere that this isn't a good idea.