Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Can tarballs be downloaded in windows and not be corupted?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666

    Can tarballs be downloaded in win?


    Can tarballs be downloaded in windows and not be corupted?
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    yes

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    The question is not can you download tarballs in Windows...the question is why would you want to?
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    the answer is i have to burn it . and i haven't delt with the cd r problem in linux yet
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    you'd be able to grab the files down from the web in Windoz, and then either burn a CD (if that's what you're after) or simply mount your windoze partion once you've rebooted into Linux and then use it (the windoze partion) like a normal linux hard disk.

    have fun
    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  7. #6
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    ...the question is why would you want to?
    I have a dual boot PC that my wifi in Suse doesn't work (broadcom chipset), but I can boot to win and download any file to my fat32 part. that is mounted in Suse for use there. I can then get access to the net/files in directly with this method.

    I also don't have a dialup account and my cable provider requires a client software install that doesn't support linux so using the hardwired nic onboard isn't a option either for my Suse. So my linux OS can only interact with the net at work using the NIC.
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •