Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Anyone know how to start a console based executable from within the Graphical Destop Environment? e.g. KDE What I'm trying to do is make a console program run at startup ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284

    starting a console program from DE


    Anyone know how to start a console based executable from within the Graphical Destop Environment? e.g. KDE

    What I'm trying to do is make a console program run at startup by opening a shell window, can't seem to figure it out. I tried googling for answers but couldn't find any!
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    Put a .desktop in ~/.kde/Autostart

  3. #3
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284
    I've done that already, but the part i'm stuck with is starting _console_ programs which do nothing when clicked.
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

  4. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by GNU_man
    I've done that already, but the part i'm stuck with is starting _console_ programs which do nothing when clicked.
    I'm not sure what you're asking. Do you want a terminal window to open up when you boot and run a console program? If so, you can make a shell script and put it in your .kde/Autostart directory like a thing suggested. Say for instance you wanted to start 'top'. Create a file and chmod it so it's executable. In the file, put this:

    Code:
    xterm -e top
    Then stick the file in your .kde/Autostart.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    Konsole also has the -e option.

  6. #6
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284
    Thanks guys, that's what I was looking for!

    ...I got it working now. It was a text mode console program that I wrote with Free Pascal that I wanted to run on startup. :P
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •