Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
I'm new to Linux, well, fairly new and what I don't get is the dependency issues with the programs that you install. Why cant all those dependency packages be installed ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    86

    Dependencie Hell!


    I'm new to Linux, well, fairly new and what I don't get is the dependency issues with the programs that you install. Why cant all those dependency packages be installed by default when you do your initial install of the system?! It's just really really aggrevating to have to go find the packages you need to install something then keep going back and forth installing packages, running the configure command, installing more packages, running the configure command...etc etc. Geez!

    Dont need any help with anything at the moment, I just needed to vent.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    Just use YaST.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Stay far away from using non-dependency resolving program installation and all frustration (constipation smiley face? ) will go away.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    Becuase Linux doesn't believe in that.

    Let's say that you exist in a purely KDE environment. You do not use any Gtk applications at all, only Qt. Why should Gtk be installed on your computer by default?

    Or let's say that you don't ever use Java or Java applications. Why should a JRE be installed by default?

    Also, as has been said, dependencies are easily cleared up if you use almost any distro's package management system (YaST, Portage, yum, apt, urpmi, etc.).

  6. #5
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Can you imagine all the bloat if everything was installed? Oh man, that would be one heck of a space stealer.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    All hail Portage

    Code:
    USE={sexy smart goodcook rich -motherinlaw -annoyingfriends} emerge girlfriend
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    86
    I understand the space thing and I have no problem installing the packages that I need but it's just a pain sometimes.

  9. #8
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Quote Originally Posted by smolloy
    Code:
    USE={sexy smart goodcook rich -motherinlaw -annoyingfriends} emerge girlfriend
    Quality!

    My advice: don't install anything you can't get with your package manager.

    If
    Code:
    pacman -S <program>
    doesn't work, it's not worth installing .

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    86
    Are there usually RPM versions of those files that usually come zipped in either tar.gz or .bz2 format?

  11. #10
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    It can depend.

    Pretty much every Linux package is released as source (that is, .tar.gz or .tar.bz2).

    While the same cannot be said for binary packages, many of the big ones are. Also, as a note, I found some time back that sometimes non-SuSE RPM's will still work with SuSE, so you can get away with that.

    Personally, that's why I love Gentoo, since it uses source anyway!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •