Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Black Box for Windows Download is 240k zipped, you can run it from the directory or install it permanently with either a batch file or from inside the envionment. There ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133

    For those stuck working on Windows at work


    Black Box for Windows

    Download is 240k zipped, you can run it from the directory or install it permanently with either a batch file or from inside the envionment. There are a lot of menu entries for windows apps there by default, you may need to edit these out from the menu.rc file. The start menu items are accessible through 'windows' > 'Start Menu' and 'Start Menu (all)' on the menu.

    I like it! If only I could change desktop with my mousewheel...

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    i used to use it, im not a big fan of vanila blackbox though

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    I think there has been more threads on this... However, some questions, is it faster than normal windows? Is it stable?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User geese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Florida / Trinidad W.I.
    Posts
    290
    looks good, I'm downloading it now.

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    Quote Originally Posted by jaboua
    I think there has been more threads on this... However, some questions, is it faster than normal windows? Is it stable?
    I second that. I'd like to maybe try it out on an older machine which currently dual boots between win 98 and DSL.
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

  7. #6
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    It still relies on explorer.exe to draw windows etc, really I think it just mutes the taskbar. However it is much more responsive than explorer menu wise, it's just a shame that you still need to draw windows the slower explorer way. I could probably convince a few regular users to have a look at this,but I think the two start menus would need to be merged for normal users as they are in Windows. I like it though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •