Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi I am a newbie to linux and have installed mandrake 10.1. How do I get to the root prompt? When I startup mandrake automatically starts using autologin. Then what ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    11

    Login as root


    Hi I am a newbie to linux and have installed mandrake 10.1. How do I get to the root prompt? When I startup mandrake automatically starts using autologin. Then what do I do? I only seem to have konsole available and all i get is username@localhost how do I change to login from this? I need an idiots guide to talk me through I have looked online and in books etc but can't seem to find the answer.
    Any help really appreciated
    Thanks
    Andy

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,120

    Re: Login as root

    Quote Originally Posted by swiss
    Hi I am a newbie to linux and have installed mandrake 10.1. How do I get to the root prompt? When I startup mandrake automatically starts using autologin. Then what do I do? I only seem to have konsole available and all i get is username@localhost how do I change to login from this? I need an idiots guide to talk me through I have looked online and in books etc but can't seem to find the answer.
    Any help really appreciated
    Thanks
    Andy
    Log in as your normal user.
    Open a terminal and type:
    Code:
    su
    ...this will ask for your root password.
    Type it, press enter and that's it.

    To login as root outside the GUI:
    *press Ctrl-Alt-F3 (this will bring you to a CLI in runlevel 3)
    *log in with the name root and give your root password.

    In both cases, type exit to get back.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058

    Re: Login as root

    Quote Originally Posted by jens
    Quote Originally Posted by swiss
    Hi I am a newbie to linux and have installed mandrake 10.1. How do I get to the root prompt? When I startup mandrake automatically starts using autologin. Then what do I do? I only seem to have konsole available and all i get is username@localhost how do I change to login from this? I need an idiots guide to talk me through I have looked online and in books etc but can't seem to find the answer.
    Any help really appreciated
    Thanks
    Andy
    Log in as your normal user.
    Open a terminal and type:
    Code:
    su
    ...this will ask for your root password.
    Type it, press enter and that's it.

    To login as root outside the GUI:
    *press Ctrl-Alt-F3 (this will bring you to a CLI in runlevel 3)
    *log in with the name root and give your root password.

    In both cases, type exit to get back.

    type su -
    that will be true root
    su is user with some root privs (not all)

    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,120

    Re: Login as root

    Quote Originally Posted by adrenaline
    Quote Originally Posted by jens
    Quote Originally Posted by swiss
    Hi I am a newbie to linux and have installed mandrake 10.1. How do I get to the root prompt? When I startup mandrake automatically starts using autologin. Then what do I do? I only seem to have konsole available and all i get is username@localhost how do I change to login from this? I need an idiots guide to talk me through I have looked online and in books etc but can't seem to find the answer.
    Any help really appreciated
    Thanks
    Andy
    Log in as your normal user.
    Open a terminal and type:
    Code:
    su
    ...this will ask for your root password.
    Type it, press enter and that's it.

    To login as root outside the GUI:
    *press Ctrl-Alt-F3 (this will bring you to a CLI in runlevel 3)
    *log in with the name root and give your root password.

    In both cases, type exit to get back.

    type su -
    that will be true root
    su is user with some root privs (not all)

    Not everyone agrees that's a safe thing to do

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    11

    root login

    Huge big thank you. Such a simple thing that I've found really difficult to find.
    I have tried to access the fstab by typing through as the root@localhost, /etc/fstab but I get access denied. Any ideas?
    Thanks
    Andy

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    home
    Posts
    796

    Re: Login as root

    Quote Originally Posted by adrenaline
    type su -
    that will be true root
    su is user with some root privs (not all)
    su is true root just as su - is, and as sudo is. The difference is that su - starts as a login shell with a clean environment. If you are root, you are true and full root, there is no halfway there, it's all or nothing. su does have it's advantages over su - because it doesn't clean the environment first, this is quite useful sometimes.

  8. #7
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733

    Re: root login

    Quote Originally Posted by swiss
    Huge big thank you. Such a simple thing that I've found really difficult to find.
    I have tried to access the fstab by typing through as the root@localhost, /etc/fstab but I get access denied. Any ideas?
    Thanks
    Andy
    Try this:

    Code:
    su   (enter root password when asked, and press Enter)
    vim /etc/fstab
    That should get you into fstab with the vim editor. Substitute the name of the editor with any other editor of your choice.

    Hope this helps.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •