Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
can someone pls post their grub.conf file so that I can use it as a reference, just in case. Thanks....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370

    can someone pls post their grub.conf file so that I can use it as a reference, just in case.

    Thanks.

  2. #12
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Here's mine:

    Code:
    # cat /boot/grub/grub.conf
    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
    #          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    #          root (hd0,0)
    #          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hda5
    #          initrd /initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/hda
    default=0
    timeout=10
    
    #title Gentoo Linux 1.4/Linux 2.6.0-test8-mm1
    #       root (hd0,0)
    #       kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.0-test8-mm1 ro root=0306 gentoo=nodevfs hdc=ide-scsi hdd=ide-scsi
    title Linux 2.6.0
            root (hd0,0)
            kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.0 ro root=0305
    title Linux 2.6.0-test11
            root (hd0,0)
            kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.0-test11 ro root=0305
    title Chainload hda6
            chainloader (hd0,5)+1

  3. #13
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    cool..thanks a bunch.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    hey Dolda,

    one quick question, what does the root=0305 in your grub.conf file indicate?

  6. #15
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    Dolda,

    I read that I have to enter the equivalen of 'cat /proc/cmdline'
    in the gurb.conf file at the end of the kernel line.
    Can you tell me what cat /proc/cmdline does?

  7. #16
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    after I modify grub.conf, do I need to run any command to write the data to the MBR? like if I modify lilo.conf i have to run /sbin/lilo...is there somethg similar for grub.conf?

  8. #17
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    OK...

    Quote Originally Posted by nikhil
    what does the root=0305 in your grub.conf file indicate?
    03 is the major device number for the first IDE bus, and 05 is the minor number for the 5th partition on the master unit on that bus. If you run "ls -l /dev/hda5", you'll see both numbers. Note that they are to be given in hexadecimal, although that isn't clear in my example, since both numbers are below ten.

    Quote Originally Posted by nikhil
    Can you tell me what cat /proc/cmdline does?
    /proc/cmdline will mirror whatever was on the kernel command line. What they probably mean is that if you have a working system, you can check /proc/cmdline for whatever kernel command line worked to get it to boot, and then just reuse that command line when you install a new kernel or boot loader.

    Quote Originally Posted by nikhil
    after I modify grub.conf, do I need to run any command to write the data to the MBR? like if I modify lilo.conf i have to run /sbin/lilo...is there somethg similar for grub.conf?
    No, that's one of the additional strengths of GRUB. The only thing that is encoded in the boot sector is the path to the config file, so as long as you don't rename the config file, GRUB will reread it every time you boot.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •