Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I've googled my brains out over this. I once figured out how to do this in Slackware (found which file to edit). I'm on Gentoo now and I want to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    de_dust
    Posts
    115

    Display Manager: set manually


    I've googled my brains out over this. I once figured out how to do this in Slackware (found which file to edit).

    I'm on Gentoo now and I want to know what file I can edit to change my display manager.

    I'd also like to know how to do this is Debian and Slackware.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    I don't quite know for sure for those distros but try /etc/inittab. I am positive that /etc/inittab is where you do it for Slackware. For Gentoo, check the wiki.

    *EDIT* - It appears, according to the wiki, that /etc/rc.conf is what you are looking for in Gentoo.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    de_dust
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by bryansmith
    I don't quite know for sure for those distros but try /etc/inittab. I am positive that /etc/inittab is where you do it for Slackware. For Gentoo, check the wiki.

    Bryan

    theoretically, it should be distro independant. theoretically, it should be contained in xorg.conf, seeign as how xorg is the X server loading the display manager. thanks.

    Still looking for the debian way though.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    For Gentoo, you will want to put gdm or kdm in your rc.conf file.
    Then do as root

    rc-update add xdm default
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  5. #5
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Quote Originally Posted by zeroth404
    theoretically, it should be distro independant. theoretically, it should be contained in xorg.conf, seeign as how xorg is the X server loading the display manager. thanks.

    Still looking for the debian way though.
    Actually, xorg.conf has nothing to do with determining which display manager is used. Your xorg.conf just determines how your video settings are set.

    http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...d.php?t=406573 - I don't know if that thread answers it but I hope it does.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  6. #6
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    I change my WM from within my /home/user/.xinitrc file with something like:

    Code:
    # exec fvwm
    # exec icewm
    # exec pekwm
    # exec fluxbox
    # exec openbox
    # exec startxfce4
    You can remove any you don't want, or you add others and simply uncomment whichever one you want to run.

  7. #7
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Oops... I misread the post as window manager instead of "display manager".

  8. #8
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    I vaguely remember when I used Debian Sid that when a new display manager was installed, it would ask you which one you wanted to use.

    Sorry, I know my answers are vague but I am trying to remember back to my Debian days.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by zeroth404
    Still looking for the debian way though.
    I did it just yesterday. If you install a new one, you will indeed be asked wich one you want to use. Can't be easier
    You can set it manually in /etc/X11/default-display-manager
    there is a line '/usr/bin/gdm' there in my case, and that's all

  10. #10
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    Quote Originally Posted by bryansmith
    I don't quite know for sure for those distros but try /etc/inittab. I am positive that /etc/inittab is where you do it for Slackware. For Gentoo, check the wiki.

    *EDIT* - It appears, according to the wiki, that /etc/rc.conf is what you are looking for in Gentoo.

    Bryan
    For slackware you run xwmconfig, to change the wm, i don't know if that might work for gentoo, i highly doubt it

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •