Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
i have a redhat 9 linux box and 2 kernels 2.4.20 and 2.6.0 when i boot through 2.4.20 and I run rpm -qa | grep <package-name> I get the following ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370

    2.4.20-8 and 2.6.0


    i have a redhat 9 linux box and 2 kernels 2.4.20 and 2.6.0
    when i boot through 2.4.20 and I run
    rpm -qa | grep <package-name> I get the following message:
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    I tried deleting /var/lib/rpm/_* and did a rpm --rebuilddb but it did not work.
    When I boot through 2.6.0 and run iptables -L -v -n
    it tells me iptables cannot identify the table "filter"..maybe you need to run insmod or I might need to upgrade my kernel or iptables version
    my iptables is 1.2.7
    Any ideas as to why I get the above 2 error messages?

    Thanks,
    Nik

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    the above 2 errors occur for kernel 2.6.0 only....
    2.4.20-8 works jus fine....
    can anyone pls tell me wats going on?

    thanks
    Nik

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Ah yes, that's true. RH9 ships with a version of RPM that becomes buggy when used with 2.6, due to some changed syscall semantics or something, I believe. Boot to 2.4 and install the upgrade from rpm.org.

    As for iptables, does it work if you run "modprobe iptable_filter" first?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    modprobe iptable_filter gives me the following:

    modprobe: QM_MODULES: Function not implemented
    modprobe: QM_MODULES: Function not implemented
    modprobe: Can't locate module iptable_filter

    any idea wats going on?

    thanks a lot for the help

    Nik

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    That's the message you'll get if you're using modutils with 2.6 instead of module-init-tools, since the module loading interface has been changed.

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    I installed module-init-tools and did a
    modprobe iptable_filter
    to install iptables but i get the message
    FATAL: Module iptable_filter not found.
    I did a grep on netfilter in /lib/modules/2.6.0/modules.dep and found no entry there.
    Am i correct in assuming that iptable is not compiled as a module?

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    try recompiling ur kernel now u have module-init-tools isntalled

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •