Find the answer to your Linux question:
i am having so much trouble instaling packages first of all the self installing ones they ask for the root password i give it then it does the preparing system ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

packages and /

i am having so much trouble instaling packages
    first of all the self installing ones
    they ask for the root password i give it
    then it does the preparing system update thing
    then after its done i cant find what ive installed
    the only one of those i got to work was aim and yahoo messanger
    then there are the ones the want me to put them it ./ but thats locked
    the only place that it will let me put files into that i have found is ./home/jason
    i am runing rh9
    i am so lost

Just Joined!
    The only thing I can think that you could do differently is actually run the install as root. I am by no means an expert in linux, as you can tell from my response, but I think there is a way to change the permissions so you can run slashdot commands. Anyway, if I was of any help, don't thank me; if I wasn't, don't tell me.

Linux Engineer
    by self installing packages i guess u mean .rpm's? unless they return some sort of error they have installed just fine. The reason u probably cant find them is the way linux stores programs. instead of a directory for each program it put all the executables in /bin or /usr/bin. both if which are automatically searched when u type in a command at a terminal.

I might have missed somethign here, are u trying to fidn them in the k/gnome menus? this is package dependant whether they put themselves on here. if they dont, run kmenuedit and put them in.