Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
i have done the following: made 3 2GB Non DOS partitions, which i did the following to: installed "/" directory of linux on one installed "/boot" directory of linux onto ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221

    Dual Boot done, bootloader problem


    i have done the following:

    made 3 2GB Non DOS partitions, which i did the following to:

    installed "/" directory of linux on one
    installed "/boot" directory of linux onto another
    and installed "/home" directory of linux on the other

    then

    Made one FAT32 12GB partition which i installed windows 2000 onto, i set the partition with LILO on it to the active partition so that the boot loader would execute upon startup, but:

    when i boot my computer it says "error loading operating system"#

    i thought i could use the FAT32 partition and place a boot loader on that and boot using that partition then, i hear it can be done with "boot.ini", how and are there any other methods ?

    THANKZ

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    /boot does absolutely not need to 2GB! It doesn't even need to be 100 MB. That's an utter waste of space.

    Anyway, I don't really understand this concept of an "active" partition that you're using... Exactly where did you install LILO?

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    yeh i know now, i have allocated 94mb to it now, this post

    NEEDS NO MORE REPLIES....... i think i've done it

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    38
    why dont u install windows first , then install Red Hat,.
    After that when u u get into the red hat, copy file in the /boot . Then put it in the C:\...Also add a boot record in boot.ini file.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    therock: What are you talking about?!

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    After closer examination, I guess you're referring to dual-booting using the windows boot loader, is that right? If so, why ever would you want to do that instead of using GRUB? GRUB is better in every possible way.

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    yes i am using grub now, its good.... but how do i configurate it ?

  8. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Well, I can't really go through everything about configuring grub here. But don't worry, if you run "info grub" you'll get all the info you'll ever need.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •