Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
Hi, I have kernel2.6.0 running on redhat 9 My .config file in /usr/src/linux-2.6.0 shows CONFIG_IP_NF_IPTABLES=m CONFIG_IP6_NF_IPTABLES=m and I also have the necessary netfilter files under /lib/modules/2.6.0/kernel/net/ipv4 However when I run ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370

    iptables on 2.6


    Hi,

    I have kernel2.6.0 running on redhat 9
    My .config file in /usr/src/linux-2.6.0 shows
    CONFIG_IP_NF_IPTABLES=m
    CONFIG_IP6_NF_IPTABLES=m

    and I also have the necessary netfilter files under
    /lib/modules/2.6.0/kernel/net/ipv4

    However when I run the following commands
    #modprobe iptable_filter or
    #insmod iptable_filter or
    #modprobe ip_tables
    I get the message
    "FATAL: Module iptable_filter not found."

    Does this mean that my iptable module is not compiled with the kernel? if so then why do i get the corresponding entries in my .config file?

    Am i missing something?
    also
    #lsmod does not show me any modules as being listed

    any reply is appreciated

    thanks,
    Nik

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    Do you have "modules-init-tools" installed?
    The best things in life are free.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Also, check in /lib/modules/2.6.0/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter if it's there. If it isn't, you probably did something wrong while installing the modules.

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    yes I have module-init-tools installed and the below dir is present as well.
    /lib/modules/2.6.0/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter
    In the above dir I also have iptable_filter.ko,iptable_net.ko and another modules present.
    When I try to do a modprobe <any-module-name> I get the message saying
    FATAL: <module> not found

    Is there something wrong with my modprobe configuration??

    modprobe --version shows
    module-init-tools version 0.9.13

    I dont know whats going on...

    thanks
    Nik

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Did you run depmod?

  6. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    yeah I ran
    #depmod 2.6.0
    and it did not give me any error messages either.

    i hope thats the correct way to run depmod.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    If you are currently running 2.6.0, then you don't need to specify that. On the other hand, it doesn't hurt either.

    Do you have /lib/modules/2.6.0/modules.dep and /etc/modprobe.conf?
    If you cd to /lib/modules/2.6.0/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter and manually run "insmod iptable_filter.ko", does that work?

  8. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    yes I have /lib/modules/2.6.0/modules.dep and /etc/modprobe.conf?
    When i go to the lib/modules/2.6.0/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter and manually run "insmod iptable_filter.ko" it comes back saying
    "Error inserting 'iptable_filter.ko': -1 Unknown symbol in module"

    I try to add any module using insmod and it comes back saying
    "Error inserting 'modules-name': -1 Unknown symbol in module"
    Fixing Unix is better than working with Windows.
    http://nikhilk.homedns.org/projects/index.html

  9. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I should have realized that... Sorry for wasting your time. What I meant was that you should "insmod ip_tables.ko". Did you try that one? I believe it should work. If it doesn't, check what symbols it is complaining on with "dmesg | tail".

  10. #10
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    cool....insmod ip_tables.ko worked jus fine....
    now do I need to run insmod iptable_filter.ko and stuff?

    thanks for your help.
    Fixing Unix is better than working with Windows.
    http://nikhilk.homedns.org/projects/index.html

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •