Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I may be nuts but here's what I have and what I want it to do: Pentium 233-64MB RAM-4GB Hard Drive I want it to be the main connection for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Best Linux for this machine and what I want to do with it

I may be nuts but here's what I have and what I want it to do:

Pentium 233-64MB RAM-4GB Hard Drive

I want it to be the main connection for my cable modem, I want to serve up a website from it and then be able to connect to it via 802.11b for internet access to my PowerBook (OS 10.3.2).

Will this old, slow Pentium do it and if so, which distro of Linux would be easiest to setup for it? I'm fairly smart about this stuff but I AM a Linux newbie.

Thanks for any help!

Linux Newbie
    Have a nice day

Linux Guru
    Speed is no problem at all. I use a 166 MHz Pentium MMX with 32 MB RAM and a 3 GB HD as my router, and I have a quite advanced networking setup. Even so, it never ever reaches any noticable load levels. I used to be running HTTP from it as well, but I moved apache onto a machine of its own due to security reasons. It still runs the FTP and mail services though, without a hitch.

For these kinds of things, the distribution probably doesn't matter that much. Just stay away from Mandrake. For sure, RH, Gentoo, Debian, Slackware, etc. will certainly do the trick.

How were you planning on setting up the 802.11b? Are you just going to plug in a PCI card into it and run ad-hoc mode, or are you going to connect a wireless ethernet bridge to an ethernet NIC in the router (I recommend the latter)?

Just Joined!
    I have a copy of Redhat 9, will that work OK on the 233 Pentium?

I was planning to just add an 802.11b PCI card, I have Airport built in to the PowerBook.

Linux Engineer
    dolda, u really hate mandrake dont u??