Find the answer to your Linux question:
hej I've spent my weekend trying to obtain some seperation from Windows but have only found great frustration. I've gone through Ubuntu (Breezy Badger 5.10) and Fedora (Core 5), both ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

in need of a distro

hej
    I've spent my weekend trying to obtain some seperation from Windows but have only found great frustration.

I've gone through Ubuntu (Breezy Badger 5.10) and Fedora (Core 5), both to no avail. The installation process runs smoothly and the terminals run fine, but I can't get gnome or kde working. Based on forum knowledge I'm holding the video card responsible. I'm pretty new to linux but as I said after reading through forums all weekend and trying countless things to get the drivers working properly, I'm close to giving up.

So I'm hoping to get recommendation on a distro that will work for me on (a relatively easy) install and includes all the fixins.
    Here are a few hardware specs:
    video card = ATI Radeon 9200 Pro 128Mb
    cpu = Intel Pent 4 3.06Ghz
    network = Linksys Wireless-G PCI

tack

Please read this: http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...e-posting.html

Looking at your hardware, it doesn't look like anything odd. Have you tried installing the ATI video card drivers?

Bryan
    Last edited by bryansmith; 04-30-2006 at 12:33 AM.
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

Just Joined!
    ok, i'll admit, it was pretty stupid of me not to have seen the post "Look here before posting!". But in any event that didn't fix my problem. In fact I went through such processes when deciding on unbuntu & fedora.

Have you tried installing the ATI video card drivers?