Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
i went into the terminal and done: "su root" "password : ?????" "mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/hdd" it then told me that the "/mnt/hdd" wasn't a mounted partition why is this and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221

    Mount Partitions


    i went into the terminal and done:

    "su root"
    "password : ?????"

    "mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/hdd"

    it then told me that the "/mnt/hdd" wasn't a mounted partition

    why is this and how can i sort it ?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    41
    now im not an expert but i ran into something similar last week

    there is a /mnt/hdd for it to mount to right?

    other than that, not sure, but start simple eh?

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    no there is no /mnt/hdd..... i thought that when it is mounted the terminal will create that directory..... how do i create that directory ?

    i have tried mkdir /mnt/hdd but that didn't work

    Edit: Would i possibly need to done this:

    mount -t vfat /dev/hda4 /mtn/hdd

    so that will will mount the fat partition (i am trying to mount a windows partition so that i can access the winnt dir through linux)

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    41
    as far as i know you need to have /mnt/hdd because it mounts the drive inside /mnt/hdd

    as root you should be able to do /mnt/hdd

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    You cannot mount anything to a directory that does not exist. Also make sure you are using the correct fs type as vfat will not work if the partition is ntfs.

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    thankx for your help people, its done now. i did:

    mkdir /mnt/hdd
    mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/hdd

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    right and if you want it to be there every time you start linux, you would add this line to your /etc/fstab

    /dev/hda4 /mnt/hdd vfat

    as long as it's fat32

  8. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Actually, that would be like this.
    /dev/hda4 /mnt/hdd vfat defaults 0 0

    Otherwise, mount will complain over the file format.

  9. #9
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    the command that I listed worked for me, but I guess it doesn't hurt to add more specifics if you want.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •