Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
how exactly do you use IPtables, i have a book called "Redhat Linux 8 for Dummies" and it is going on about creating a firewall and says to type iptables ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221

    Iptables


    how exactly do you use IPtables, i have a book called "Redhat Linux 8 for Dummies" and it is going on about creating a firewall and says to type iptables but when i do it says "iptables: not found"

    why is this and how can i sort it ?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Are you sure you're root?

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    yep

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Code:
    export PATH=$PATH:/sbin
    or
    Code:
    su -
    or just login as root from the console

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Also check with "rpm -q iptables" so that it's really installed.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    done that, it is installed

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    621
    rpm -ql iptables | grep bin
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    i did :

    Code:
    rpm -q iptables | grep bin
    and that worked but when i type
    Code:
    iptables
    it says "Command not found"

    why is this and what do i do ?

  10. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Did rpm -ql iptables | grep bin give you any output? (Please note -ql, not just -q)

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    It is probably not in your path. Do what I said earlier and it will work.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •