Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey all, i've been using linux for about two years now and I love it. I also really want to give something back for all the great (free!) software I've ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Where do i start programming?

Hey all, i've been using linux for about two years now and I love it. I also really want to give something back for all the great (free!) software I've been able to use.

Previously when I used windows I learnt how to program in Visual Basic (about as difficult as HTML I know, but it was a start). Now i want to learn a more powerful language to make decent applications (with GUI frontends) for my beloved linux.

So, doing some research, i though Python might be a good start. Any suggestions? Does anyone know where I might start learning? or of a good website with some guides? I have no idea where to start, and as with most things, starting is the hardest part.

So if anyone knows good resources, IDEs or can recommend a better language to learn on please do so!

Thanks

Linux User
    Hi smith88,
    Good to know that you are interested in making your own contributions to Free Software World.

The best resource for Python is : -

http://www.python.org/

Do a web search for more tutorials.

GTK+ and Qt are good GUI tool kits to use. Web search for more information.

For IDEs, again, do a web search, there are many to pick.

Tcl programming language and Tk graphical tool kit is also a good language. Again, search the web for more information on this.

Perl is also a powerful language. There is a tutorial in the home page of Linux Forums. Do web search for more information.

I cannot suggest which language you should use. I pick according to what suits my needs, which varies most of the times.