Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
How can i mount linux partition in solaris in rw mode without installing any other software? Thanks in advance....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6

    Mounting Linux partition in Solaris


    How can i mount linux partition in solaris in rw mode without installing any other software?
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    First of all have a look at this:

    Forum Rules This has something to do with your subject and also the section you choose. This is not a Redhat specific question, you should have asked in Linux Newbie or some other section like that. That way other users can read/find your thread and its solution more easily.

    Now abt the solution. Edit this file /etc/vfstab in your solaris system and edit/add the line for your linux partition which is say (/dev/hda6)
    Code:
    #Device          mount point    partiton type               options
    /dev/hda6         /linux         ext2 (or specify)      noatime,exec,rw 0 0
    Which means---->
    noatime: no access time
    exec: you can execute files on this partiton
    rw: read-write (choose ro here if it is read-only)
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  3. #3
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Title has been edited and post moved. Please give more useful thread subjects in the future.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6

    Mounting Linux partition in solaris

    Hi,
    I have tried but it didn't help me.
    Anyway thanks and i will remember to post quries under right title.



    Quote Originally Posted by apoorv_khurasia
    First of all have a look at this:

    Forum Rules This has something to do with your subject and also the section you choose. This is not a Redhat specific question, you should have asked in Linux Newbie or some other section like that. That way other users can read/find your thread and its solution more easily.

    Now abt the solution. Edit this file /etc/vfstab in your solaris system and edit/add the line for your linux partition which is say (/dev/hda6)
    Code:
    #Device          mount point    partiton type               options
    /dev/hda6         /linux         ext2 (or specify)      noatime,exec,rw 0 0
    Which means---->
    noatime: no access time
    exec: you can execute files on this partiton
    rw: read-write (choose ro here if it is read-only)

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    Quote Originally Posted by amol_pali
    Hi,
    I have tried but it didn't help me.
    Anyway thanks and i will remember to post quries under right title.
    Can you post your /etc/vsftab?
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6

    Hi

    I am new to solaris but i am not new to linux so i tried everything. The fact is that i dont have ethernet drivers installed on solaris. I have dual boot system linux and solaris. I have network drivers installed on linux and is working fine but on the same machine i dont have ethernet drivers for solaris. My ethernet card is 'Broadcom tg3 something'. i want to bring my machine on network and for that i need to install drivers. But fact is that i cant transfer those downloaded drivers on solaris machine since i dont have cdrom and floppy drive. the only way is to transfer those drivers from linux to solaris by mounting linux partition in solaris. My '/etc/vfstab' entry is as follows :

    to-mount mount-point fs-type fsck-pass mountatboot mount-option
    /dev/sda2 /linux ext3 - yes noatime,exec
    ,rw 0 0




    Quote Originally Posted by apoorv_khurasia
    Can you post your /etc/vsftab?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6

    Hi

    Sorry for posting solaris query in linux forum. But can't u create discussion group for solaris O.S. in linux forum as solaris is also related with linux?
    Thanks,
    Amol


    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    Title has been edited and post moved. Please give more useful thread subjects in the future.

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    The problem is not that is a solaris question. Instead it is:

    1. The subject "Hi" is totally useless and people browsing through the forum don't get an idea of what is inside. This has two effects --one that you won't be able to get much help and second other people having the same problem won't be able to search the post and its solutions. We care more about the latter as you yourself ar responsible for the former.

    2. The forum section chosen was totally arbitary. Why did you posted the thread in the Fedora section to begin with? This is not a Fedora question. It should have been put in Linux Newbie or Misc section.

    Now about your problem: Does your solaris have ext3 support. Check whether the kernel loads these modules or not. If not recompile the kernel with ext3 support.
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    Or, mount the Solaris partition in Linux.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6

    Mounting Linux partition in Solaris

    Quote Originally Posted by rcgreen
    Or, mount the Solaris partition in Linux.

    I have mounted solaris partition in linux. It is easy but i could only mount it as read only so i could not copy the drivers in solaris. Can u tell me how to mount it read-write ?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •