Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hullo, I'm a newbie to Linux, but not to technology. I consider myself somewhat advance and ability to learn. I program in C++ currently, and have done some advanced things ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Best distro for a newbie who wants to get his hands dirty and customize

Hullo,

I'm a newbie to Linux, but not to technology. I consider myself somewhat advance and ability to learn. I program in C++ currently, and have done some advanced things with Windows such as a shell replacement and registry editing.

I want the distro to be very good for customization, so that I can use something else than GNOME or KDE, and other things. While I'm not scared to get my hands dirty, and to narrow it down, I'd like the distro to be suited for customization, and if possible, newbies, but not newbies and not customization.

EDIT: Could you also please list all the distro's you know of, and from there I can look at some other specific things and reviews.

Linux Enthusiast
    SuSE and Ubuntu for the beginner seems to be the more popular picks; however, most any distro will suffice. Try out a few and see which one you like. As for reviews, check out Techiemoe's reviews.

Linux Newbie
    Excellent starting point - http://distrowatch.com/
    Elive,kanotix-mini,pclinuxos super gamer,xp, sidux

Quote Originally Posted by AdamskiAirsoft
    Hullo,

I'm a newbie to Linux, but not to technology. I consider myself somewhat advance and ability to learn. I program in C++ currently, and have done some advanced things with Windows such as a shell replacement and registry editing.

I want the distro to be very good for customization, so that I can use something else than GNOME or KDE, and other things. While I'm not scared to get my hands dirty, and to narrow it down, I'd like the distro to be suited for customization, and if possible, newbies, but not newbies and not customization.