Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
This one has me a little stumped. I had to reinstall Gentoo last night because of some major screw ups on my part, and now a line in my fstab ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390

    Weird fstab problem...


    This one has me a little stumped. I had to reinstall Gentoo last night because of some major screw ups on my part, and now a line in my fstab no longer works.

    /dev/hdb1 /home/tyler/storage reiserfs users,uid=1000,gid=100 0 0

    This wont mount, and when I try and do it manually like below I get that error.
    Code:
    mount /home/tyler/storage 
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdb1,
           or too many mounted file systems
    However when I mount it somewhere else, like mount -t reiserfs /dev/hdb1 /mnt/test it works fine. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    did you check to see if there is something mounted there.. or attempt to unmout whatever may be on that dir before trying to mount that device there?
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390
    There's nothing mounted on there initially, and I can mount /dev/hdb1 /home/tyler/storage manually.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    did you copy&&paste the fstab entry or did you type it in yourself? i ask because i was looking at your initial message again and saw that there was no leading / in your fstab entry... so instead of:
    dev/hdb1 ....

    it should be:
    /dev/hdb1 ....
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390
    Oh yeah I copied it but I missed the first /.

  7. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    try taking out the gid and uid and see what happens

  8. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390
    Ha didn't know you replied yowwww

    Anyway I've discovered my regular user can still use it without the uid stuff and it mounts now. Still strange why it wouldn't before but whatever it works now. Thanks for all the input!

  9. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    420
    i juss dunno why v edit the /etc/fstab file...
    instead of that..if v put in an entry in the rc.ocal file..it wud be much cleaner as well as easier..
    wat say ya yowww

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •