Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have an old Pentium 233 machine with a 3com NIC connected to a Linksys BEFW11s4 which is then connected to a cable modem. I have 2 other machines on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Redhat 9 Can't Connect to Internet

I have an old Pentium 233 machine with a 3com NIC connected to a Linksys BEFW11s4 which is then connected to a cable modem.

I have 2 other machines on the same network, a Tibook via Airport and a PowerMac 6500 via ethernet. They both access the internet flawlessly.

I can conenct to both Macs from the Linux box but the browser in Redhat 9 just won't connect to the internet. I CAN use the Redhat browser to connect to the BEFW11S4's setup page so I know that the http is being sent OUT of the Linux box, it's just not making it past the Linksys to the internet.

Any ideas?

P.S. I'm a newbie....

Linux Engineer
    make sure that ur DNS servers are listed in /etc/resolv.conf and that ur gateway is set to the ip of the linksys-whatever router

Just Joined!

can't connect to web sites on the internet

Hi,

I too have RH9 recently installed, but I cannot get mozilla to connect to websites on the internet. My W2k machines on the saem network connect fine so I know in theory evrythong should just work - even with the Linux PC I can connect to my dlink DSL box, so my local IP connectivity is fine.

I have checked resolve.conf, and I do see the correct DNS server addresses that come from my ISP via my DSL modem. I am using a wireless connection, and as I say, IP to the DSL box is OK.

I did notice that there does not appear to be a means to enter a default gateway (192.168.0.1 in my case) for the wifi interface (eth1), unlike what you see on the wired ethernet interface (eth0) when using the net config tool "system settings->network". I have disabled the eth0 wired interface since I do not use it.