Find the answer to your Linux question:

View Poll Results: Are you using Apt/Synaptic or going to use it?

Voters
9. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I'm using Apt/Synaptic.

    4 44.44%
  • Yes, I'm going to use it.

    1 11.11%
  • No. Not interrested.

    4 44.44%
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Remember to install synaptic, its the GUI for apt. Here is the code for a new sources.list for in the /etc/apt/ Code: # PLEASE CHOOSE NEAREST MIRROR FROM http://www.fedora.us/wiki/FedoraMirrorList # ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552

    Remember to install synaptic, its the GUI for apt.

    Here is the code for a new sources.list for in the /etc/apt/

    Code:
    # PLEASE CHOOSE NEAREST MIRROR FROM http://www.fedora.us/wiki/FedoraMirrorList
    # INSTEAD OF JUST USING THE MASTER REPOSITORY!
    
    # Fedora Core + Extras repositories
    
    # Fedora Core
    rpm http://download.fedora.us/fedora/ fedora/1/i386 os updates
    rpm-src http://download.fedora.us/fedora/ fedora/1/i386 os updates
    
    # University of Hawaii Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
    rpm http://fedora.quicknet.nl/fedora/ fedora/1/i386 os updates stable
    rpm-src http://fedora.quicknet.nl/fedora/ fedora/1/i386 os updates stable
    
    # Livna 3rd party packages with questionable (in USA) licenses -- use at your own risk
    rpm http://rpm.livna.org/ fedora/1/i386 stable unstable testing
    rpm-src http://rpm.livna.org/ fedora/1/i386 stable unstable testing
    
    ### Dag Apt Repository for Red Hat Fedora Core 1
    rpm http://apt.sw.be redhat/fc1/en/i386 dag
    
    # freshrpms Fedora Linux 1
    rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/1/i386 core updates freshrpms
    But sure to first install apt, then synaptic.
    Run synaptic and update it, close and start it again.
    You'll have access to tons of apps.
    And most of the trees are updated daily.
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  2. #12
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    Before I forget:

    Import the GPG keys from:

    www.fedora.us
    AND
    rpm.livna.org

    To import the keys use:
    Code:
    rpm --import <Keyfilename>
    Enjoy.
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  3. #13
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    Quote Originally Posted by big_k105
    i perfer to compile everything by hand so i dont use aptget or even the 2 that kriss mentioned since im in slackware. but if they were to get the source of applications and compile them and install them i would be using them
    My servers are running slackware and all are custom build.
    This is just a perfect tool for a workstation and if using FC1 an initial update tool to get all the RPM's and SRPMS.
    After that it's back to recompiling.

    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    blastered software... i was using synaptic and i did a distro update, this updated my kernel, now there are 3 items on my boot loader, whichever linux i load from now has errors i never had before i did this... DONT DO DISTRO UPDATE (i'm using redhat 8.0)

  6. #15
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    hmmm.. That's weird...
    Distro upgrade from RH9 to FC1 worked fine for me....
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  7. #16
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    While APT is a great tool for users with RPM (I just hated those dependency errors), I still find that the lack of a centralized RPM database is really the problem. Back when I was using Fedora, I was experimenting with Yum and APT. Both were a great tool since RPM dependencies are often very annoying to solve but none of them could match upto the amount of packages avaiable for Debian.

    Synaptic is a nice tool as well. I just always prefer command line utils.
    The best things in life are free.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •