Find the answer to your Linux question:

View Poll Results: Are you using Apt/Synaptic or going to use it?

Voters
9. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I'm using Apt/Synaptic.

    4 44.44%
  • Yes, I'm going to use it.

    1 11.11%
  • No. Not interrested.

    4 44.44%
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
Just wondering how many ppl are using apt / Synaptic to maintain their Linux. For the ppl who don't know apt . It's a RPM manager from Debian and Synaptic ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552

    To Apt/Synaptic or not... ?


    Just wondering how many ppl are using apt / Synaptic to maintain their Linux.

    For the ppl who don't know apt.
    It's a RPM manager from Debian and Synaptic is the GUI interface.
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219

    Re: To Apt/Synaptic or not... ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Opnosforatou
    For the ppl who don't know apt.
    It's a RPM manager from Debian and Synaptic is the GUI interface.
    It isnt an RPM manager you cant use rpms with apt they use .deb packages. Yeh I use apt its a great tool.

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552

    Re: To Apt/Synaptic or not... ?

    It isnt an RPM manager you cant use rpms with apt they use .deb packages. Yeh I use apt its a great tool.
    Check again: here .
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    When I used Redhat, I remeber using apt-get. The tree wasn't as big as it is today, but still useable. Nowdays, if I wan't anything I just use slaptget and/or swaret to download and install stuff for me..

    Kriss

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    sounds interesting, i may get it..... i can use it on redhat 8.0 yes?

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Opnosforatou that is a modified APT to work with RPM's the orginal APT is for Debain and uses .deb packages which is what ii thought you where talking about.

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    Quote Originally Posted by kriss
    When I used Redhat, I remeber using apt-get. The tree wasn't as big as it is today, but still useable. Nowdays, if I wan't anything I just use slaptget and/or swaret to download and install stuff for me..

    Kriss
    i have downloaded and install it, how do i run it, i would like to attach an icon to it on my desktop, whats the command for it?

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    You have to run it in terminal, but a simple "apt-get update && apt-get upgrade" would update your system, and after that you can just run "apt-get install packagename".

    However, Synaptic as Opnosforatou said is the frontend for apt. I haven't used it, but I'm shure its good.


    Good luck

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    yeh i done apt-get update, it was taking forever and lots of disk space so i cancelled it, i only got 5gb disk space, i'll run it again once i get linux onto a bigger hdd

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    i perfer to compile everything by hand so i dont use aptget or even the 2 that kriss mentioned since im in slackware. but if they were to get the source of applications and compile them and install them i would be using them
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •