Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm running RH8.0 and I am a newbie - so therefore I have been messing with things here and there mostly to get my sound to work. (Which I did ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

RPM GUI Problems with RedHat - RPM Install Dissapears!

I'm running RH8.0 and I am a newbie - so therefore I have been messing with things here and there mostly to get my sound to work. (Which I did using the alsa driver then one day it stopped working all of a sudden which is kind of a different issue altogether) Anyways, when I run (by run I mean the old-fashioned double clicking) an rpm that isn't installed the preparing system update window comes up, completes whatever it is that it does, then dissapears. That's it! Nothing else comes up - the usual actual installer no longer comes up. What the heck is going on/what the heck did I do!??

Thanks

Just Joined!
    if it didnt give you any errors, i just might have installed did you try finding/running whatever was in the package

you could always run a rpm install from a command line:
    i always use: rpm -ivh - which gives to effect something like
    blahblah 0 [##################]100
    shows progress and errors.

what package are you tring to install program, libraries?
    if its a program you may have double check to make sure it in your path, or a library is in the library path (ld.so.conf i think?) now im not sure why it would be in somewhere other than the path, but never hurts to double check.

Linux Guru
    RedHat's GUI wrappers for RPM installation are a bit unstable. Try upgrading them (use the command line rpm tool for that, like crippler says).

Just Joined!
    Just double clicking on them does not install them. But alas I can - and should - use the commands which I will start using. I guess I just like it to tell me that everything installed correctly (yes I did just switch from Windows)

Thanks guys

Linux Guru