Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Code: Kernel IP routing table Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface 192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0 127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    26

    Code:
    Kernel IP routing table
    
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    192.168.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
    127.0.0.0       0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Ok looks like you don't have your gateway set. You can do that be either editing the file that contains your gateway variable and restarting network services or
    Code:
    route add default gw <gw> dev <dev>
    doing that command.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    26
    I type in: route add default gw 192.168.0.1 dev eth0 and it works fine. I am able to ping outside the network. But, after i log off and back on, I not able to ping outside the network. what file should I have to edit? I am running Redhat 7.1.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    /etc/sysconfig/network
    I am not sure on that but I think that is it.

  6. #15
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Yes, that's right.
    You should add the line that sets the GATEWAY variable. If there is no such line, it should read "GATEWAY=192.168.0.1".

  7. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    26
    Thanks works great. You said before if I type in hostname at the prompt, I get back Linux350. So i don't know why it takes so long for sendmail to start. Or how can i just delete it? Thanks.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •