Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am new to Linux, and I am trying to set up the linux machine to have a static ip. I ran netconfig and set the ip (192.168.0.3), and netmask ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Network Not working

I am new to Linux, and I am trying to set up the linux machine to have a static ip. I ran netconfig and set the ip (192.168.0.3), and netmask (255.255.255.0). The problem comes when I set up the gateway. See, I don't have a router. Instead, I am running a 2000 machine with 2 nics. Should the gateway be the ip of the 2000 machine? Also, I edited the hosts file and added this line 192.168.0.3 (the same ip i set the netconfig to) linux350 (the comp name) linux350 (nickname). Is this correct? And why does sendmail take sooo long to start? After all this, I can ping the 2000 machine, but nothing outside of that. Which leads me to think the gateway isn't set right? I believe thats all that I have done. From any other comp on the network, I can ping this linux machine, but it doesn't show up in "windows". I can't even find it if I search for it. Thanks for all the help.

diego

Linux Enthusiast
    first off, you are on the right track. You can't see it from windows? You mean in the "Network Neighborhood" thing? Don't worry about that, we can fix that later. Also, do you have routing turned on in Win2k? Can you pink outside your network from a different computer that is using this win2k box as a router? If so then post your routing table (retrieved with `route -n`) and your win2k server address. Sendmail takes a long time to start because it is looking up the hostname I think (which it can't find). There is a discussion abou tthis in another thread, also some stuff on google. I forget how they solved it, but I know it isn't too difficult. Hope this helps.
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

Just Joined!