Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
ok i have grub image ,nice blue color and fedora title.But i dont want it anymore.I want to change my grub look. so i wnat to know where is grub ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549

    grub splash-image


    ok i have grub image ,nice blue color and fedora title.But i dont want it anymore.I want to change my grub look.

    so i wnat to know where is grub image,where can i download new one and howto change it!!!

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    You can read a good description of grub in the gentoo handbook:

    http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handboo...part=1&chap=10

    I don't know where to download a new one, but I do know that you can change your splash image in grub.conf (which is probably either at /boot/grub/grub.conf or /etc/grub.conf).

    There's a line that looks like this:
    Code:
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    in grub.conf that tells it where to look for a splash image. It gives it the partition it's on (the first hard-drive, first boot partition in my case, and the absolute path).

    Hope that helps.

  3. #3
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    ok i ve found it.....can i re-edit that image with gimp....will grub give me any err message if i do that?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    .will grub give me any err message if i do that?
    ohhh ! i tried to change splash image and it didn't work. its been a long time. may be i did something wrong. i will try again.

    dont worry ! edit splash image. backup original file first. in case GRUB couldn't configure new splash image, it will use black background and white text. GRUB works perfectly without/'with incorrect' splash image.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    Check this out:
    "1.0 Requirements for GRUB splashimages:
    1. xpm.gz file type
    2. 640x480
    3. 14 colors only"

    I just found this very detailed site that describes how to do this:
    http://ruslug.rutgers.edu/~mcgrof/grub-images/

  7. #6
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    ok ...worked fine

  8. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by eraker
    1. xpm.gz file type
    2. 640x480
    3. 14 colors only"
    ahaa ! thanx eraker ! i will try this.........




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by jan1024188
    ok ...worked fine
    you are too fast.... did you really created new image having size 640x480 and colors 14 in just 5 minutes? hmmmm.........





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    yes i used gimp.....i added jan1024188 to splash screen and i also changed color to pale blue....heh

    now i downloaded some splash screens from here
    http://www.gnome-look.org/index.php?...de=high&page=0

    ill try them out right now.....

  11. #10
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    ok now i copied fc6 spash screen to /boot/grub dir of fc4 so now i have fc6 splash screen(in less than 5 min)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •