Find the answer to your Linux question:
Greetings! I am a freelancer just brought in today on this problem and I'm stumped. My client had their email server running on a Debian install with software Raid 1 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Debian RAID 1 Array Crashed; Trying to mount Disk 2

Greetings!

I am a freelancer just brought in today on this problem and I'm stumped.

My client had their email server running on a Debian install with software Raid 1 across two identical 40 gig Maxtor IDE hard drives. The OS was on disk 1, and disk 2 was used as the mirror.

The other day disk 1 failed. Disk 2 has no boot sector it seems, or is unmountable for some other reason. It won't boot from disk 2, anyways, and I was unable to mount it. Fsck says "DriveReady SeekComplete Error" and that it cannot read sector 0 (I ran "fsck /dev/hdb") and it acts as if there is no /hdb1, 2 etc.

I understand that Raid 1 is disk mirroring - is the data on disk 2? Can it possibly be accessed? If so, how?

Thanks for any help!

- Matt

Just Joined!
    Did you go back to basics and check to see if the bios reads the second drive? Ctrl-a at the scsi bios as well?

Then make sure the boot disk your using is going for the kernal in the right mirrored boot disk. IE if it was hda1 change it to hdb1. You could always just image a new drive from the mirror and mout it as hda1 and let it take care of itself. Faster that way.

Where in NS are you?

Just Joined!

Re: Mikey

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

Well the drive is definitely being read by the BIOS. There is no SCSI (the original RAID was with two IDE Maxtor drives.)