Find the answer to your Linux question:
We have 4 Win2K servers and 5 win2K client machines. Could someone suggested a good book or online-doc that will help me set up a Linux box as our PDC? ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux User

Linux Server as a PDC Documentation

We have 4 Win2K servers and 5 win2K client machines. Could someone suggested a good book or online-doc that will help me set up a Linux box as our PDC? I'm fairly new to Linux.
    I want to migrate as many machines as possible to Linux and I thought the PDC would be a good start.

Any suggestions would be grealty appreciated!

TIA!

BD

Linux Enthusiast
    samba can do some of this, but for a real PDC for a domain, not just a workgroup you need muuuuuch more crap. When windows switched from local login to a network-based token handling security paradigm they stole a lot of stuff from LDAP and Kerberos. If you can reverse engineer their LDAP/Kerberos implimentation (not as super-hard as it sounds). People have done it, but I think they are legally not allowed to say how or something? I don't know. I have tried it. Tough enough for me to not start to reverse engineer it. I thought I could get away with changing windows to talk like linux, I was wrong, I need to change linux to talk like windows, and that is only after I find out how windows talks. In general.
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

Linux User
    First off, thank you Slacker for the slew of Info. Very detailed and I like it that way.

Wassy, to give you an idea of what I'm working on: I have 5 servers running NT. I want to gradually move to linux on 3, possibly 4 servers. I thought the best start would be to convert my PDC to a Linux box.
    What pros and cons do you see? Thanks for your input and excellent help in the past.

BD

Linux Enthusiast