Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'll preface this request for info by saying I'm a fair novice with Linux, although i've been using Mandrake/driva for about 18 months - currently Mndrva 2006. It's installed on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Repartitioning dual boot hard drive

I'll preface this request for info by saying I'm a fair novice with Linux, although i've been using Mandrake/driva for about 18 months - currently Mndrva 2006. It's installed on a Dell laptop.

Problem: Unfortunately i have undersized my /home partition and i now need to increase it (I'd like to partition the internal drive 50-50 with lin and xp - it's a 60Gb dirve)

As a step towards solving this i have installed an external firewire drive.
    I'm assuming I'll have to reformat the laptop's drive so that i can rebuild the partition structure. Then reinstall the software in the appropriate partitions. After this transition I'd like to use the ext drive as a back up drive and possibly a data repository.

Therefore I assume i copy (using dd) the existing linux partition to the ext drive.

Can I also do this with my xp partition to the same ext drive? to do this do i need to set up specific partitions ie ext3 & NTFS?

Then I'll reformat the internal drive with the new partition sizes, then reinstall the copies.

I'm looking for some help with the details of this task - any takers?

After this transition i would like to upgrade to Mand 2007 (I'd like to try ubuntu but i can't get the live cd to boot - but that's another story).

thanx in advance,
    pete

no need to format, re-install XP and Linux. you can use GParted LiveCD to rearrange/resize partitions.
    post the output of 'fdisk -l' command. let us check if its feasible or not.

casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the reply...