Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Im a stoopid windows user . And Im installing mandrake but have had way too much trouble with a diamond stealth video card. Can anyone please give me a link ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    2

    mandrake the card...


    Im a stoopid windows user . And Im installing mandrake but have had way too much trouble with a diamond stealth video card. Can anyone please give me a link to a site where I can buy a decent but CHEAP video card that works with mandrake 8.0 (i dont want mandrake 9..so dont bother asking ). I dont want to spend a lot at all..but I do want a fairly decent card. Im willing to spend about 50-75 bucks.

    Please let me know.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Might be cheaper just to figure out what is wrong with your setup. What error do you get when you try to start X?

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Norway, Asker
    Posts
    267
    if you must, i can advice you to nvidia tnt2 wich works pretty well.
    But search at google.com/linux to find information related to your screencard.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by genlee
    Might be cheaper just to figure out what is wrong with your setup. What error do you get when you try to start X?
    I cant figure it out...it dont display an error...it just messes up on the test. Sometimes it will display X10 fatal error. Othertimes when i do the install it almost goes through than everything disppears.

    Anyone with recommendations or is it just the tnt2?

    Jon

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Were you able to install mandrake at all?

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Have you tried using the VESA driver instead?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •