Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I don't know where this post should go so I've put it here: I've had a lot of problems with my computer, but this is the strangest one yet: Whenever ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! Ozzi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    48

    Question Half of the internet doesn't work


    I don't know where this post should go so I've put it here:

    I've had a lot of problems with my computer, but this is the strangest one yet:

    Whenever I try conecting to some pages like google or the debian forums (and many others) I get a 'Firefox can't find server at...'. Other pages like yahoo or this forum work just fine. I checked wih a few friends of mine on the same network and they have no problems with those pages.

    I've tried restarting my network (my computer for that matter), stopping the firewall and still no results. Then I tried a few LiveCD's (Ubuntu, Knoppix, DSL) and they had the same problem.

    I can't figure out what could have happened. Everything worked fine an hour ago. Has anyone encountered anything like this or do I have an alien infestation in my PC?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie harner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    209
    What kind of internet do you have? (Cable, DSL, dial-up)

    It kind of sounds like a DNS issue. You may have to contact support from your ISP. Hopefully they will support Linux.
    I praise Webmin and PuTTy!
    Registered Linux User: 439431

  3. #3
    Linux User zba78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    335
    try switching to OpenDNS and see what happens
    Ubuntu Jaunty :: Arch Linux (current) :: Acer Aspire 1692WMLi

  4. #4
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    One way to check if it's a DNS issue is to find the IP addresses of the sites you're having trouble with (I usually ping them to do this) and enter these in the browser's address bar, rather than using www.whateveritis.com ...

    Also try accessing the problem sites using Konqueror. If you have no trouble doing that then it suggests that some settings on Firefox need changing.

    Firefox has a lot of 'out of the box' settings which can be tweaked by typing about:firefox in the address bar.

    I had similar trouble ages ago, but managed to resolve it. Default settings can sometimes cause mysterious problems, depending on a lot of variables.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  5. #5
    Just Joined! Ozzi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    48
    I found out that a short while after me, the other computers on my network started having the same problem, so i believe it comes from my ISP.

    Anyway if it were a problem with my system, I'm guessing the LiveCD's would have fixed them, considering that they worked when I first tried them.

    Thanks for your answers anyway.

  6. #6
    Linux User zba78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    335
    Yes you're corect fingal. Once I had a similar problem to ozzi and the solouton was to change firefox's value of network.http.proxy.version from 1.1 to 1.0
    Ubuntu Jaunty :: Arch Linux (current) :: Acer Aspire 1692WMLi

  7. #7
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by zba78 View Post
    Yes you're corect fingal. Once I had a similar problem to ozzi and the solouton was to change firefox's value of network.http.proxy.version from 1.1 to 1.0
    Nice one! A slight amendment to what I said above. I meant about:config not about:firefox . Thanks.

    My change involved altering network.dns.disableIPV6 from false to true and adding something to a config file somewhere, which I can't remember.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •